The Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT) is an intergovernmental trade agreement signed by Canadian First Ministers that came into force in 1995. Its purpose is to reduce and eliminate, to the extent possible, barriers to the free movement of persons, goods, services, and investment within Canada and to establish an open, efficient, and stable domestic market.

Signatories to the Agreement include:

  • Canada
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia
  • Prince Edward Island
  • New Brunswick
  • Quebec
  • Ontario
  • Manitoba
  • Saskatchewan
  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Northwest Territories
  • Yukon

Note: Nunavut is not a signatory to the AIT and has observer status.

This site is managed by the Internal Trade Secretariat which has been established to provide administrative and operational support to the functioning of the Agreement.

  • Boutet Family Law
  • Accountant
  • Cannect Home Financing Mortgage Broker